THE STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES FOR
THE APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL IN FELONY AND MISDEMEANOR CRIMINAL CASES FOR
INDIGENT DEFENDANTS
REVISIONS EFFECTIVE DATE DECEMBER 1, 2010

PREAMBLE

WHEREAS, The Webb County Board of Judges seeks to ensure that indigent defendants continue fo

receive well-qualified and knowledgeable representation by their appointed counsel; and

WHEREAS, the 77" Texas Legislature passed the Texas Fair Defense Act effecting procedures and

guidelines for the appointment of counsel for indigent defendants by amending the Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure, section 6, article 26.04 to become effective January 1, 2004.

NOW BE IT RESOLVED that the Judges of the Webb County Board of Judges by formal action in

compliance with and as mandated in the Texas Fair Defense Act hereby;
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Adopt standards for determining indigence,

Establish procedure to compile a public appointment list of attorneys qualified to provide representation to
indigent defendants,

Establish a procedure to compile graduated lists of qualified attorneys,

Adopt objective qualifications necessary for an aitorney to be included on the lists and,

Establish appointment procedures that shall ensure appointments are reasonably and impartially allocated
among qualified attorneys pursuant to the Texas Fair Defense Act.

ACCORDINGLY, the Webb County Board of Judges hereby adopts the following revised plan for

appointing counsel for indigent defendants and juveniles in the Courts of Webb County, Texas,

The Webb County Board of Judges further Orders this plan be incorporated into the local rules of the

Judicial District conrts of Webb County District Courts and the Webb Count Courts at Law.

1.

A TERMINOLOGY, As used in these procedures, the following terms and phrases will have the
following meanings,

1. “Judges” or “Board of Judges” shall mean all the presiding judges of the District Courts and
County Courts at Law in Webb County.

2. The pronoun “he” shall refer to individuals of both genders.

B. GENERAL

The rules in the Part govern practice in ail justice of the peace, county, and district courts in
Webb County-
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3.

PROMPT APPEARANCE BEFORE A MAGISTRATE
The detaining authority must present the defendant before the magistrate within 48 hours of arrest
for a felony, or 24 hours for a misdemeanor arrest.
The magistrate shall deliver admonishments, inform the defendant of his right to counsel, and
make a finding of probabie cause.
If needed, an interpreter shall assist during the hearing,
If the defendant asks that a lawyer be appointed, the magistrate or magistrate’s designee shall
assist the defendant in filling out the indigence information required on Defendant’s Financial
Affidavit and request for appointed counsel as attached hereto in Exhibit A.
The magistrate will transmit all requests for counsel to the appointing authority within 24 hours of
the request being made.
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REQUESTS FOR APPOINTED COUNSEL

A. All reasonabie efforts will be made to communicate the following information to each person
who is accused of a crime at a post-arrest hearing under Tex. Code Crim. P. art. 15.17, using a
language that the arrested person understands;

I “You have the right to a lawyer’s help in responding to the accusation against
you; &6

2. “The county will pay a court-appointed lawyer to help you if you can’t afford
one;”

3. “You can request an appointed lawyer right now using the Magistrate’s

certificate attached as Exhibit B and called the Probable Cause, Rights, Bail and
Attorney Request Form, which I will give to another judge who decides if you
qualify, and then appoints a lawyer who will contact you within a few days;”

“If you need help filling out the form, I can get help for you;” -

“Do you want to request an appointed lawyer?”

A person appearing in court without counsel will be advised of the right to
counsel and procedures for obtaining counsel,

;s

B. The Magistrate shall note the response on said Magistrate’s Certificate. Magistrates will either
make an electronic or written record of having communicated each item in Rule 6.10.01 above to
each arrested person at each Asticle 15.17 hearing and maintain this record for at least 120 days.
Either an electronic or written record such as Exhibit B, the Probable Cause, Rights, Bail and
Attorney Request Form completed by the Magistrate can be the record of said request.

C. If a magistrate has reason to believe that a person is not mentally competent to decide whether
to request counsel, the magistrate will enter a request for counsel on that person’s behalf.

D. Magistrates shall transmit any request for counsel, that they receive, to the appointing Judge
specified in Rule 6.11 below, or to the judge’s designee.

5.
APPOINTING JUDGE

A. The Board of Judges shall designate either a judge or the Jail Magistrate or an individual hired
by the County to perform non-judicial duties required by the Fair Defense Act for all people
accused of criminal offenses who request appointment of counsel. The duties of the appointing
Judge are to:



1. Follow Rule 6.12 to make an initial determination of whether a person requesting
counsel is indigent.
2. Follow Rule 6.01 to select and appoint counsel to represent each indigent defendant; or
Local Ruie 5 for juveniles.
3. Follow Rule 6.14 to cause all interested parties to have notice of appointment decisions.
B. Counsel shall be appointed as soon as possible, but not later than the end of the first

working day after the date on which the appointing judge or person(s) designated by the
Judges to appoint counsel receives the defendant's request for counsel. "Working day"
means Monday through Friday, except for official holidays approved by commissioners

court.

1. The Appointing Judge may assign any of the non-judicial duties stated in these Rules to a
county employee who is hired to address administrative matters associated with indigent
defense.

2, The Board of Judges shall assign Indigent Defense Services staff as needed to comply

with the Fair Defense Act and they shall review all persons in the jail to insure that all
persons are timely appointed counsel as per these rules and Texas law.

INDIGENCY DETERMINATIONS

A. A person in “indigent” and thus qualifies for appointed counsel in this county if the income of
the person and the person’s spouse totals less than 125% of the federal poverty level for the
family, or the person’s dependents currently received food stamps, public housing, Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), OR Medicaid, unless the person has net liquid assets
worth over $2,500, excluding the value of one vehicle, pursuant to cwrrent Texas TANF
guidelines.

6.12.02 Indigence determinations may be based upon the attached Exhibit G as submitted by the
accused person, or any other evidence admitted by the appointing Judge.

B. Procedures and Financial Standards for Determining Indigence Status

L At the magistrate's hearing each accused shall be provided an opportunity to request court
appointed counsel, if indigent. Each requesting defendant shall complete a sworn
affidavit of indigency form {Exhibit A}. The magistrate will insure that reasonable
assistance is available in completing the necessary forms for requesting appointment of
counsel.

The magistrate shall then review the information and follow the procedures for
determining whether a defendant is indigent, as follows:

2. Financial Standards for Determining Indigence. Webb County will apply the most recent
United States Poverty Guidelines Chart to determine indigence.

The financial standards set forth below shall be used to determine whether a defendant is
indigent and shall be applied equally to each defendant in the county.

(a) A defendant is considered indigent if:
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(1) the defendant’s net household income does not exceed 125% of the Poverty
Guidelines as established and revised annually by the United States Department
of Health and Human Services and published in the Federal Register; and

(2} the value of the non-exempt assets and property owned by the defendant:

(i} does not exceed $2,500.00;

(i) does not exceed $5,000.00 in the case of a defendant whose

household includes a person who is age 60 or over, disabled, or
institutionalized; or

(iii) does not exceed double the estimated cost of obtaining competent private
legal representation on the offense(s) with which the defendant is charged.

A defendant is considered indigent if, at the time of requesting appointed counsel, the
defendant or the defendant’s dependents have been determined to be eligible to receive
food stamps, Medicaid, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, Supplemental
Security Income, or public housing.

" A defendant is considered indigent if the defendant:

(1) is currently serving a sentence in a correctional institution, is currently held in
custody, is currently residing in a public mental health facility, or is the subject of a
proceeding in which admission or commitment to such a mental health facility is sought;
and .

(2) has ro non-exempt assets or property in excess of the amounts specified in paragraph
two

A defendant who does not meet any of the financial standards above shall nevertheless be
determined indigent if the defendant is otherwise unable to retain private counsel without
substantial hardship to the defendant or the defendant’s dependents, taking into account
the nature of the criminal charge(s), the anticipated complexity of the defense, the
estimated cost of obtaining competent private legal representation for the matter charged,
and the amount needed for the support of the defendant and the defendant’s dependents.

Factors Not to be Considered

A defendant’s posting of bail or ability to post bail may not be considered in determining
whether the defendant is indigent or partially indigent. Even when a defendant has posted
bail, the defendant’s financial circumstances are measured by the financial standards
stated in this rule.

The resources available to friends or relatives of the defendant may not be considered in
determining whether the defendant is indigent. Only the defendant’s financial
circumstances as measured by the financial standards stated in this rule shall be used as
the basis for determining indigence.

Procedures for Determining Indigence:
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As soon as possible following arrest, and in any event not later than the Article

15.17 hearing, the Magisirate shall provide each arrested person who wants 10 request
appointment of counsel with a form approved by the judges on which the arrested person
will provide under oath the necessary information concerning the person’s financial
resources and will indicate that the person requests appointment of counsel. The
Magistrate shali provide the arrested person reasonable assistance in completing the
form.

The form requesting appomntment of counsel and containing the information concerning
the arrested person’s financial resources will be transmitted to the appointing judge or
person(s) designated by the judges to appoint counsel.

'The appointing judge or person(s) designated by the judges to appoint counsel will
determine whether the person meets the financial standards for indigence in paragraph 2.
The determination will be recorded on the form requesting appointment of counsel and
the form will be filed with the other orders in the case.

The arrested person may be required by the magistrate, the appointing judge, or the judge
presiding over the case to respond to examination regarding the person’s financial
resources.

A written or oral statement elicited under this article or evidence derived from the
statement may not be used for any purpose, except io determine the defendant’s
indigence or to impeach the direct testimony of the defendant regarding the defendant’s
mdigence.

A defendant determined to be indigent is presumed to remain indigent for the remainder
of the case unless a material change in the defendant’s financial ¢ircumstances occurs.

A defendant’s status as indigent or not indigent may be reviewed in a formal hearing at
any stage of a court proceeding based on evidence of a material change in the defendant’s
financial circumstances. A defendant’s status as indigent or no indigent also may be
reviewed in a formal hearing at any stage of a court proceeding based on additional
information regarding financial circumstances, subject to the presumption. If a defendant
previously determined to be indigent subsequently is determined not to be indigent, the
attorney shall be compensated by the county in accordance with these Rules for time
reasonably expended on the case.

Payment by Defendant. A court that finds that a criminal defendant has financial
resources to offset, in part or in whole, the costs of legal services provided under this Plan
may order the defendant to pay the county that portion of the costs of legal services,

7.

SELECTION AND APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL

A,

1.

NEW APPOINTMENT

The Appointing Judge will identify which of the appointment lists (capital, felony 1, 2, 3
and SJF, misdemeanor and juvenile) specified in Rule 6.04 below best correspond to the
known information about the accusations against each indigent person who requests
counsel.
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The Webb County Public Defender’s attorneys will also be classified as to which felony
and misdemeanor appointments they are qualified to receive based on education and
experience.

The Webb County Public Defender’s office will receive 75% of all of the felony and 75
% of the misdemeanor appointments. The Board of Judges may from time to time adjust
the percentage of cases to be assigned to the Wehb County Public Defenders’ Office due
to staffing availabilities. The rest of the appointments may be made from the applicable
appointment list. The Appointing Judge will appoint a lawyer from the applicable list
whose name is among the next five names in order so identified unless:

(1)The defendant requesiing counsel does not understand English, in which case the
Jjudge will appoint the next lawyer who both appears next in order on the list and speaks
the clients’ language, if one is available;

(2)The defendant has an attorney already appointed on a prior pending matter, the same
attorney will be appointed to the new matier, unless the attorney is not on the list for the
type of case involved.

B. CHANGE OF ATTORNEY
Where a trial court is required to change counsel for good cause shown on the record;

1.

2.

The judge exercises discretionary authority to appoint one of the attorneys whose name is
among the next five names in order on the list; or

In unusual circumstances, the appointing Judge upon a written finding of good cause may
appoint any qualified willing attorney regardless of whether the attorneys name is on the
list.

Each time a lawyer is appointed out of order under the preceding paragraph, the lawyer
who is appointed out of order shall not be appointed to a new case until all other eligible
lawyers on that wheel have received an equal number of appointment, except the Public
Defender, so long as the Public Defender does not receive more than 75% of all felony
and 75 % of the misdemeanor cases.

C. TERM OF APPOINTMENT

1.

Each attorney appointed under this rule is to represent the person through trial and appeal
or including habeas corpus, until removed or replaced by court order.

If any attorney is appointed under this rule, and that attorney is not qualified for the new
case, the judge shall appoint either a second attorney who is qualified or appoint proper
qualified counsel on the new case. This applies to the Webb County Public Defender’s
staff as well.

D. LIST OF ATTORNEYS

1.

The director of Indigent Defense Services shall maintain lists of qualified attorneys by
alphabetical order, to be used by the appointing court or designee for 25% of the
appointments at the felony and misdemeanor level, and where a conflict or multiple
defendants require appointment of additional counsel. Upon a person being found
indigent, the administrator shall Rule 6.06 herein after. The attomey, who is selected,
except for the Public Defender, shall be removed from the wheel lists until all other
attorneys on the lists have been appointed a defendant. An attorney remains on the lists
as next attorney until assigned a case.



Should appointed counsel withdraw due to conflict of interest or any other reason except
that the Defendant has obtained counsel, the appointing Judge or designee shail inform
the Trial Court of the next five names for the Court to select. The Court may choose any
one of the five aitorneys, on the list as set out in Rule 6.04 above,

E. NOTICE OF APPOINTMENT DECISIONS

1.

If the Appointing Judge finds that a person who requests counsel is not indigent under
Ruie 6.12 above, the Appointing Judge will enter that finding on the form, cause it to be
returned to the person, and cause a copy to be filed by clerk.

If the appointing Judge finds that a person who requests counsel is indigent, the judge
will give notice of appointment by sending Order Appointing Attorney (attached as
Exhibit C) to be issued to both the defendant and the appointed attorney, and to be filed
with the district or County Clerk.

Notice to appointed counsel under this Rule will be provided by telephone, facsimile
inform the appointing court of the next name on the wheel. The wheel shall be
constructed as per, electronic mail, or some other similar immediate means of
communication by the District or County Clerk or Board of Judges or Designee.

When formal charges are filed against 2 person who has requested counsel, a copy of the
application and order appointing counsel shall be filed by the District or County Clerk.

F. APPOINTMENT LISTS

1.

(A)
(B)
©

65)
(E)

2.
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The Appointing Judge shall maintain indigent defense appointment lists in this county:

Juvenile List as specified in Local Rule 5.04;

Juvenile certification or determinate sentencing as specified in Local Rule 5.04;
Lists to be used to select counsel for people other than those who are charged with
‘misdemeanors, state jail felonies, felonies of the 3%, 2%, and 1% degree;

A Murder List to be used to select counsel for murder cases; and

A Capital List to be used to select counsel for Capital Murder cases.

All lists shall include the name of the Webb County Public Defender such that the Public
Defender shall receive no more than 75% of all felony and 75 % of all misdemeanor
appointments. The appointments for juvenile cases shall continue to be made from the list
unless there are additional public defenders hired to represent juveniles,

The Lists shall include all licensed attorneys residing in Webb County, Texas who have
applied for and are qualified for appointment to felony and misdemeanor cases if the
attorney has completed a minimum of 6 hours continuing legal education pertaining to
criminal law during each calendar year; or currently certified in criminal law by the
Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Continuing legal education may include activities
accredited under Section 4, Article XII, State Bar Rules, self-study, teaching at an
accredited continuing legal education activity, attendance at a law school class or legal
research-based writing.

An attorney who is qualified under the General List may be included on the Murder List
or the Capital Murder List only after a majority of the judges who hear such cases
approve adding the attorney’s name to the lists after review of Webb County
Application/Affidavit Criminal Felony, Misdemeanor or Juvenile Courts Attorney

(attached as Exhibit D).



¢} For the Murder List:

i The attorney has at least four years of experience in criminal litigation.

ii The attorney has tried four criminal cases to a jury verdict as lead
counsel.

fii Has attended at least 10 hours MCLE in criminal law per year for three
yeats prior to application, and annually thereafter;

iv Has been appointed by the presiding judge of the Court to such a case
in the past; or

A\ The presiding judge of the Court finds that the attorney is qualified to

undertake such representation.

2) For the Capital List :

i The attorney must meet all the requirements set out in in Tex. Code
Crim. P. Art. 26.052; and

i meet the standards for qualification adopted by the Fourth
Administrative Judicial Region Capital Murder Case Committee.

iii An emergency appointment may be made when no attorney is available

who meets the continuing education or board specialization
requirements by the time an attorney must be appoinied in the case.
The appointing judge or designee making the appointment shall given
priority to attorneys with experience in criminal cases.

G. Application for placement on lists.
i. All attorneys are required to file the Webb County Application/affidavit Criminal Felony,

3.
4.

Misdemeanor or Juvenile Courts Attorney. Thereafier, all attorneys are required to file a
new application/questionnaire by October 1 of every vear and continning annually until
this rule is amended. Any attorney may apply to be placed on any of the felony,
misdemeanor, juvenile certifications and determinate sentencing, felony murder or capital
murder appointment lists by supplying this county’s Director of Indigent Defense
Services with all of the information necessary of the attorney’s qualifications to
determine if the attorney meets the requirements.

. The Director will evaluate application to determine if each applicant is qualified for

respective list. The judges if the district courts trying felony cases will review and may
approve by majority vote qualified applicants for felony case lists. The judges of the
statutory county court trying misdemeanor cases will review and may approve by
majotity vote qualified applicants for misdemeanor case list.

Each time an attorney is added, a new list will be supplied to the appointing judges.
Namies on the list will be listed alphabetically.

H. Grounds for Removal. The Appointing Judge will remove an atiorney’s name from a list if:

L
2.

A majority of judges of the Board of Judges vote to remove the attorney;
The attorney fails to meet the minimum qualifications needed to remain on a
particular Hst

3. The attorney ceases to be an active member of the State Bar of Texas; or
4.
5. The Board of Judges may remove an attorney’s name from the general

The attorney requests removal from the list.

misdemeanor or juvenile list if a majority of County Court at Law agrees,
The attorney does not submit the request to remain on the appointment list on or by Oct.
1%, of each year to the Office Webb County of Indigent Defense Services.



1. Procedure for Removal
1. Referral

If a judge/member of the juvenile board believes that an attorney has violated any of the
provisions listed in the paragraph above, the judge/juvenile board member may

refer an attorney to the board of judges/juvenile beard for removal from the appointment
list. The referral must be in writing and shall clearly state the grounds that form the basis
of the referral. No disciplinary action with respect to the attorney being retained or
removed from the appointment list may be made without such a referral.

2. Notification/Hearing

Upon receiving an attorney referral, the board of judges/juvenile board shall notify the
attorney in writing of the referral and inform the attorney of the grounds that form the
basis of the referral. The notice shall also inform the attorney of the time and place the
board of judges/juvenile board will meet to discuss the referral and give the attorney an
opportunity to respond to the referral in writing or in person or both,

3. Action

After the board of judges/juvenile board meets and gives the attorney an opportunity to
be heard, the board of judges/juvenile board shall determine whether the attorney should:

(a) remain on the appointment list at the same level;

{b} moved to an appointment list for indigent defendants charges with less serious
offenses; or

{c) beremoved from appointment list altogether.

The attorney may be removed from the appointment list or moved to an appointment list
for indigent defendants charged with less serious offenses by a majority vote of the
judges/juvenile board members present. In addition, the majority of the judges/juvenile
board members may also vote to require the attorney to take other rehabilitative
measures. Removals from any list may be probated. For removal or probated removals,
the judges/juvenile board members ordering the removal may require the completing of
rehabilitative measures as a condition of probation or reapplication. An order of removal
should state in the order the earliest date at which the attorney may apply for
reinstatement. An atforney who was removed from an appointment list under

“Grownds for Removal” number 7 or 8 shall be immediately reinstated upon providing
proof that the charges were dismissed or that the attorney was acquitted, unless other
grounds for removal exist against the attorney that would prohibit reinstatement.

The decision of the board of judges/juvenile board is final and may not be appealed.



10

8

REPLACEMENT OF APPOINTED COUNSEL

1 An atiorney may be removed from an appoiniment upon satisfying the appointing Judge
that the lawyer has good cause for being excused and that the client will not be
prejudiced, in which case the judge shall use Rule 6 to immediately appoint another
qualified iawyer.

2 The judge with jurisdiction over a criminal case may replace appointed counsel after
entering findings in the record showing good cause for the replacement and no prejudice
to the defendant, including but not limited to the following:

a. Current information about the defendant and charges indicates that counsel of different
qualifications would be appropriate for the defendant under these rules; or

b. Replacement is needed to comply with Tex. Code Crim. P. Art. 26.052 (e) in a capital
felony trial.

3 The judge with jurisdiction over a criminal case will replace appointed counsel at the
defendant’s request if:

a. The Defendant requests an attorney other than trial defense counsel for appeal or post
conviction habeas corpus proceedings; or

b. The Defendant shows good cause for replacing appointed counsel.

9

CONTACT BETWEEN APPOINTED COUNSEL AND CLIENTS

a. To minimize costs to the county under these rules, magistrates will (1) insure that the
county’s sheriff knows how his policies may facilitate efficient communication between
jailed clients and (2) attorneys without surmising the security of any detention facility,
including policiesthat minimize the time that attorneys must wait for their clients at jail.

b. Appeinted counset will make every reasonable effort to interview their clients before
the end of the day after the date the appointment is made, not including weekends and
holidays. 1t is a standing order of the Webb County Board of Judges that, upon request,
the Sheriff shall permit contact visits between inmate defendants and their attorneys.

10
FEE SCHEDULE

Each court shall pay appointed non-Public Defender attorneys reasonable fees in accordance with
a uniform schedule of fees as adopted by the majority of the judges. The uniform schedule of fees
shall take into consideration reasonable and necessary overhead costs, the availability of qualified
attorneys, time and labor expended, complexity of the case, and the experience and abitity of
counsel. An attorney working under the Public Defender shall be paid by salary set by the
Commissioner’s court. See Exhibit E
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APPOINTED ATTORNEY COMPENSATION

A

All payments shall be paid after judicial approval, in accordance with the attached fee
schedule and guidelines which were adopted by formal action of The Board of Court
Judges, with copies sent to the Commissioner’s Court of Webb County. (See Exhibit G)
This fee schedule takes into consideration reasonable and necessary overhead costs and
the availability of qualified attomeys willing to accept the stated rates.

A new voucher form and in-court and out-of-court itemization forms will be provided for
appointed counsel to itemize the types of services performed. (See Attachment F) The
appointed counsel must submit this voucher to the judge presiding over the case for
which the appointed attorney seeks compensation, for the judge to approve the payment.
If the judge disapproves the requested amount of payment the judge shall make written
findings stating the amount of payment that the judge approves and each reason for
approving an amount different from the requested amount.

If the trial court diverts from the fee schedule and an amount exceeds the amount fee
schedule, the Local Administrative Judge (in felony cases) or two County Court at Law
Judges (in misdemeanor cases) or two of the juvenile judges, must also approve the
excess payments, If approved, the orders will be submitted to Commissioner’s Court for
excess payments. See section 11,

An aftorney whose request for payment is disapproved may appeal the disapprovat by
filinga motion with the presiding judge of the administrative judicial region, as
provided under Article 26.05(c) of the Code of Criminal Procedure. This motion must be
filed within twenty (20) days from the date the attorney receives notice of the
disapproval of payment.

On the filing of a motion, the presiding judge of the administrative judicial region shall
review the disapproval of payment and determine the appropriate amount of payment, In
reviewing the disapproval, the presiding judge of the administrative judicial region may
conduct a hearing. Webb County shall pay to the appointed counsel the amount that is
approved by the presiding judge of the administrative judicial region and that is in
accordance with the adopted fee schedule,

Webb County will reimburse appointed atforneys for investigation and expert witness
expense(s) up to $100.00 on behalf of an indigent defendant without prior approval of the
Court. On presentation of a claim for reimbursement, the Court shall order
reimbursement of counsel for the expense(s), if the expense(s) is reasonably necessary
and reasonably incurred. Unreasonable or unnecessary expense(s) will not be approved
as provided under Articles 26.05(d)} and 26.032 (f) through (h) of the Code of Criminal
Procedure, and that is in accordance with the adopted fee schedule.

i. The attorney must attach to the voucher an itemized statement of each expense
listing the date, the kind and the amount of the expense and must supply
supporting documents for any expense over $40.00;

2. Regarding computer assisted legal research the attomey must provide a
statement of the issues researched, and estimate of the number of hours of
attorney time required if the research has been done manually and a copy of the
bill.
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Payment of a fee in excess of the case maximum stated in the fee schedule as described in
subparagraph E above may be made in the following kinds of cases:

(A)
(B)

©
(D}

(E)

Extended cases: A case in which more time is reasonable required for total
processing than the average case.
Complex case: A case in which the legal or factual issues are unusual, thus
requiring expenditure of more time, skill, and effort than would be required in
the average case.
In no event shall the hourly in court and out of court rates specified above be
exceeded.
An attorney may obtain excess payments by certifying to the trial court that: (1)
the case was extended, complex, or both and (2) excess payment is necessary to
provide fair compensation.
In order to approve excess payments, the frial court must make the following
findings
{1) The case was extended, complex, or excess payment is necessary to
provide fair compensation. On this issue, the following factors will be
considered:
(a) Responsibilities of the attorney measured by the magnitude
and importance of the case.
(b) Manner in which the attorney performed his‘her duties.
(c) The attorney’s knowledge, skill, efficiency, and
professionalism.
(d) Judgment required of and used by the attorney.
(e) Nature of the attorney’s practice and injury to it because of
this case.
{3] Extraordinary pressure of time or other factors.
(2 Any other relevant factors.

Payment of a fee in a case presided over by a visiting judge also requires the approval of
the trial court judge. The administrative judge may also approve payment in the event
that the trial court judge is unavailable.

Failure to submit your voucher for payment 30 days completion of appellate proceedings
will be deemed to be a donation of the attorney time and tatent and will be pro bone.

Voucher can be located on-line at www.webbcountytx.gov. For further information,
please cail the Webb County Indigent Defense Services Department.

Payment will not be approved unless the voucher and request for payment is submitied in
proper form in a within 30 days.
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These revisions to the Standards and Procedures for Appointment of Counsel for Indigent
Defendants were amended by unanimous vote of the joint administrative meeting of County Court
at Law and District Judges of Webb County, Texas on December 1, 2010.

N

Oscar J. Hale, Jr, — SN
406th District Court

ity A
/

Jesus Garza, Judge
County Court at Law II

Danny Valdez,
Webb County Judge



