GENERAL INFORMATION

On August 22, 2011, Webb County adopted the State of Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 2153, for
pleasure coin-operated machines. The purpose for adopting this chapter and code is to provide a
comprehensive compliance, accountability and uniform enforcement county-wide regulations of music
and skill and/or pleasure coin-operated machines.

“Coin-operated machines” means any kind of machine or device operated by or with a coin or other
United Stated currency, metal slug, and token, electronic card or check. Machines required to obtain a
$15.00 (fifteen dollars) permit under this chapter are the following but not limited to: music, skill, pleasure
machines, pool tables, eight liners, amusement, and/or any other machine that might fall under this
chapter.

In addition to the permit fee per machine, a license is now required to operate each general business.
The State of Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 2153, Subchapter D (License or Registration), Sec.
2153.154 (License Fee), states that the annual fee for a general business license is the following:

$200.00 (two hundred dollars) for an applicant with 50 or less machines
$400.00 (four hundred dollars) for an applicant with 51 to 200 machines
$500.00 (five hundred dollars) for an applicant with 201 or more machines

Your business must submit an application to operate your coin-operated machines. The application
MUST BE completed online and downloaded for signature from our website,
http://www.webbcountytx.gov/TaxAssessorCollector/CoinOperatedMachines/ . (NO HANDWRITTEN
APPLICATIONS WILL BE ACCEPTED. This is to prevent errors from occurring due to misinterpretation
of entries.) A permit number will be issued according to the internal and external serial number you
submit for each particular machine. Each machine must have the correct permit issued. Coin-operated
machines without a 2012 permit will be delinquent and are prohibited from operating after December 31
2011. You can purchase 2012 permits as of November 1, 2011. Failure to comply, with this chapter,
could result in: fines, civil penalties, sealing of machines and/or citations.

This office is willing to work with any business regarding this type of activity. Your cooperation and
compliance of this code is appreciated. If you have any questions regarding the enforcement of this
code, please contact the Occupations Enforcement Officer at our office at (956) 523-4200.
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